Skip Top Navigation  Skip to Main Content
Looking For..?
Department Banner

Transportation Advisory Committee

Transportation within Henderson County and its municipalities is a valuable and important asset. Henderson County established its Transporation Advisory Committee (TAC) to: (1) advise the Board of Commissioners and members of the French Broad MPO on matters related to transportation in Henderson County; (2) promote intergovernmental cooperation on transportation issues; (3) assess the transportation needs of the County and suggest methods to address these issues; and (4) work with the French Broad MPO and the Department of Transportation on projects including long range transportation planning, major and minor street/road improvement projects, road and bridge safety, public transportation and other alternative forms of transportation. The TAC shall adhere to its established bylaws.

Meeting Schedule, Agendas and Minutes

The TAC meets on dates it determines at 4:00 PM (unless otherwise noted) in the King Street Meeting Room, in the County Administration Building, located at 100 North King Street, Hendersonville, NC.


Meeting Date
No December Meeting
November 15
October 18
September 20
August 16
May 17
April 19
February 15



Meeting Date
December 14
September 21
August 17
May 18
February 17



Meeting Date
October 14
September 2
August 12
April 15 (Cancelled)
January 21


Meeting Date
August 19* (9:00 AM)
April 16
March 19
January 15

Click here for previous agendas and minutes.


On February 4, 2008 the Board of Commissioners adopted a revised Henderson County Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) Charter to re-focus the purpose and structure of the TAC. The TAC consists of eleven (11) members, including five (5) representatives from municipalities (appointed by the municipalities), two (2) Henderson County representatives and four (4) at-large appointments by the Henderson County Board of Commissioners. TAC members are appointed to serve two (2) year terms. The Planning Department Staff serves as the primary County staff to the TAC.

Transportation Advisory Committee Member

Expiration of Appointment

Appointment Date
Renee Kumor, Chair (At Large)
February 1, 2018
February 20, 2008
Jim Crafton (At Large)
February 1, 2018
February 20, 2008
John Bryant (At Large)
February 1, 2018
October 3, 2016
Beau Waddell (At Large)
February 1, 2018
December 1, 2014
Steve Caracker
(City of Hendersonville Representative)
Eddie Henderson
(Town of Fletcher Representative)
George Banta
(Town of Laurel Park Representative)
Larry Freeman
(Town of Mills River Representative)
John Dockendorf
(Village of Flat Rock Representative)
William Lapsley (Commissioner)    
Michael Edney (Commissioner)    

Specific Duties

See Henderson County Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) Charter.